American MilSim
Guest Specs

Downgrading Echo 1 CSR to DMR limits.

Guest Specs

Hello AMS community! 

I find myself in new territory here, as I am no mechanic, grease monkey, tech, or engineer. Prior to ESR 19 in March, I plan on stepping up from my meager A&K SVD to the Echo 1 CSR. However, the platform comes shooting at a steady 500-510 FPS, and I of course need to bring that down to the -450 range for DMR applications. So as I'm researching different springs, it looks as if I'm in the market for an m120 or m130.

My concern is that the CSR comes with a 685mm Inner Barrel, which I'm fairly certain will increase my FPS beyond the standard range shown for those springs. If that's the case, should I go with the m120? And are there any brands in particular you all cling to? I hear decent things of the Guarder and Echo 1 (piano wire) variety. 

Thanks for your time everyone. I'm both intimated and excited to open up and get hands-on with my first AEG platform.

-Specs of Ozark Mountain Milsim

685mm?! :blink:   That's just crazy! I would hope the voume of the cylinder is equal to or greater than the volume of the barrel, otherwise you will have to rely on a heavy spring to sling that BB out before suffering from the dreaded 'suck back'. I would go with an M130. With the M130 you can test it out and if you're a little over, you can always clip off a coil or two until you get down to the desired muzzle velocity.

I've used Echo1 and Gaurder both. Both were good but the Echo1 showed more of a drop in velocity once is 'settled in'. I've had several Gaurder springs in several guns and holy cow do they hold their tension over years and years of use.

Guest Specs

Thanks for the response Metal!